Postage stamps to inspire & celebrate the art of letter writing

 

This is my entry for the Royal Society of Arts competition to design a set of 6 postage stamps. The brief was to design a set of stamps which would inspire and celebrate the art of letter writing. I wondered how to encourage people to write more letters, and realised that sometimes it’s always the beginning bit that’s the trickiest part. Once you have a beginning, the rest often flows…

So, I’ve provided people with a set of 6 different salutations to choose from. I was inspired by the fantastic spring colours Pipilotti Rist used in her show at the Hayward Gallery, and well, it is nearly spring. The typefaces were used to add a touch of theatre to the whole occasion. The theatre is a place of wonder, mystery and excitement. I wanted to invoke some of that by using its language. A bit of Ta Dah! Here’s your letter. Write back to me!

Leave a comment